Microcurrent and EMS (electrical muscle stimulation) both send a small electrical current through the skin. The difference is strength and purpose.
- Microcurrent uses a very low current, measured in microamps. Most people barely feel it. It’s meant to gently stimulate facial muscles over time for a lifted look.
- EMS uses a stronger current, measured in milliamps. It makes muscles visibly twitch or contract, like a mini workout.
For the face, microcurrent is the more common and gentler choice. Many devices sold as “EMS facial massagers” mix several features at a low price, with mixed quality.
Pros
- FDA cleared for safety
- Compact and portable
- Adjustable microcurrent levels
- Wireless USB-C charging
- Targets multiple face areas
Cons
- Effects require daily maintenance
- Limited to facial use only
- No included gel for purchase
Specifications
| Product Dimensions | 4.78 x 3.91 x 7.14 inches; 1.1 pounds |
|---|---|
| Item model number | 42026 |
| Batteries | 1 Lithium Ion batteries required. (included) |
| UPC | 850019720426 |
| Manufacturer | NuFACE |
| ASIN | B09YCSP51N |
| Best Sellers Rank | #33,751 in Beauty & Personal Care (See Top 100 in Beauty & Personal Care) #27 in Wrinkle & Anti-Aging Devices |
| Customer Reviews | 3.6 3.6 out of 5 stars (647) |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Delivers microcurrent technology for facial sculpting and contouring
- Targets cheeks, neck, and jawline for toning and depuffing
- Includes wireless USB-C charging for convenient use
- Adjustable intensity levels with LED indicator lights
- FDA cleared for safety and efficacy in home use
- Compact design for easy portability and storage
FOREO Bear 2 Advanced Lifting Toning Microcurrent
Pros
- Up to 680 uA microcurrent
- Four microcurrent modes
- Anti-shock system
- Painless and safe
- Compact and travel-friendly
Cons
- Requires conductive serum
- Results may fade within hours
- Thicker gel needed to avoid pinching
Specifications
| Product Dimensions | 1.77 x 4.72 x 5.91 inches; 3.17 ounces |
|---|---|
| Item model number | F1818 |
| Department | Unisex |
| Batteries | 1 AA batteries required. (included) |
| Manufacturer | Foreo |
| ASIN | B0CFVZBMS1 |
| Best Sellers Rank | #71,136 in Beauty & Personal Care (See Top 100 in Beauty & Personal Care) #71 in Wrinkle & Anti-Aging Devices |
| Customer Reviews | 4.1 4.1 out of 5 stars (388) |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Delivers up to 680 uA of microcurrent for deep muscle toning and skin firming
- Features four distinct microcurrent modes: steady, lifting, tapping, and sculpting
- Anti-Shock System 2.0 assesses skin conductivity 200 times per second for safe, painless use
- Includes T-Sonic pulsations for enhanced product absorption and lymphatic drainage
- Clinically proven to improve skin firmness and elasticity within one week
- Compact design suitable for travel and on-the-go use
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Up to 680 uA microcurrent
- Four microcurrent modes
- Anti-shock system
Consider another option if
- Requires conductive serum
- Results may fade within hours
- Thicker gel needed to avoid pinching
Pros
- Two waveform modes
- App-guided tutorials and reminders
- Offline controls available
- Face and neck use
Cons
- Conductive gel required
- Clinical evidence details not supplied
- Battery life and warranty details not supplied
Specifications
| Color | White |
|---|---|
| Product Group | Beauty |
| Binding | Misc. |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Two waveform modes let users tailor routines by comfort and treatment area
- App tutorials and reminders support a more structured routine
- Skin assessment recommends routines based on profile and preferences
- Offline mode allows intensity, waveform, and treatment-time selection
- Designed for face and neck skincare routines
- Conductive gel use is specified for treatment
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Two waveform modes
- App-guided tutorials and reminders
- Offline controls available
Consider another option if
- Conductive gel required
- Clinical evidence details not supplied
- Battery life and warranty details not supplied
Pros
- Three adjustable intensity levels
- Rechargeable and lightweight design
- Short three-minute treatment protocol
- One-year manufacturer warranty
- Anti-shock system
Cons
- Requires conductive leave-on gel primer
- Battery runtime is not specified
- Limited treatment guidance in supplied data
Specifications
| Color | White |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 4.7 x 2.2 x 1.1 inches |
| Weight | 0.24 Pounds |
| Product Group | Beauty |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Three intensity levels support more personalized facial treatments
- Three-minute sessions fit easily into daily skincare routines
- Rechargeable, lightweight design supports portable use
- Anti-shock system is designed for more comfortable treatments
- Protocol covers the face and neck with glides and holds
- Includes a one-year manufacturer warranty and 90-day satisfaction period
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Three adjustable intensity levels
- Rechargeable and lightweight design
- Short three-minute treatment protocol
Consider another option if
- Requires conductive leave-on gel primer
- Battery runtime is not specified
- Limited treatment guidance in supplied data
Pros
- Three treatment modes
- Face and neck compatibility
- Rechargeable and portable
- Infusion-focused skincare mode
- Compact handheld design
Cons
- Red-light wavelength not specified
- Clinical evidence not provided
- Treatment instructions lack detail
Specifications
| Color | White |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 8.26 x 1.8 x 1.9 inches |
| Weight | 1.0141264052 Pounds |
| Product Group | Beauty |
| Binding | Health and Beauty |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Three modes support contouring, red-light care, and product application
- Designed for both facial and neck routines
- Infuse mode helps spread skincare more evenly
- Rechargeable design works at home or while traveling
- Lightweight format is easy to hold and store
- Daily-use approach fits consistent skincare routines
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Three treatment modes
- Face and neck compatibility
- Rechargeable and portable
Consider another option if
- Red-light wavelength not specified
- Clinical evidence not provided
- Treatment instructions lack detail
Pros
- Microcurrent, heat, and LED functions
- Three adjustable intensity levels
- Rechargeable travel-friendly design
- Five-minute treatment format
- One-year manufacturer warranty
Cons
- Battery runtime not specified
- Limited published technical detail
- Clinical evidence details not provided
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Combines microcurrent, heat, and red and blue LED light
- Three intensity levels support a more personalized routine
- Five-minute format fits easily into daily skincare
- Rechargeable, lightweight design is convenient for travel
- Compact 3.7-by-3.2-inch form stores easily
- Includes a 90-day satisfaction period
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Microcurrent, heat, and LED functions
- Three adjustable intensity levels
- Rechargeable travel-friendly design
Consider another option if
- Battery runtime not specified
- Limited published technical detail
- Clinical evidence details not provided
Side by Side
| Microcurrent | EMS | |
|---|---|---|
| Current | Microamps, very low | Milliamps, stronger |
| Feel | Little to none, maybe a slight tingle | Visible muscle twitching |
| Goal | Gradual toning and lift | Muscle contraction, toning |
| Common devices | NuFACE, FOREO Bear, MyoLift | Many multi-function massagers |
| Gel needed | Yes | Usually yes |
Which Should You Choose?
- Microcurrent if you want a gentle, established approach for facial toning. It’s the technology behind most well-known brands.
- EMS if you prefer a stronger sensation. For the face, use low settings and be careful around the eyes and jaw.
Microcurrent Devices to Consider
- NuFACE Mini+: compact and simple. See NuFACE Trinity vs Mini.
- FOREO Bear 2: app-guided microcurrent. See ZIIP Halo vs FOREO Bear 2.
- 7E Wellness MyoLift QT Plus: app-guided microcurrent, 4.2 stars from about 60 ratings.
- Aphrona Galvanic Spa: a budget option the listing describes as FDA-cleared.
- Era of Nature 3-Mode and Avorla LED Gua Sha: low-cost tools with microcurrent features. Fewer ratings and less documentation.
Safety
Don’t use microcurrent or EMS if you have a pacemaker or other implanted electronic device, epilepsy, or are pregnant, unless your doctor approves. Avoid broken or irritated skin, and keep devices away from the eyes. Always use the gel or serum the device calls for.
What Results to Expect
Both need regular use, several times a week, and results fade if you stop. Expect subtle changes, not a surgical-style lift.
Where This Guide Comes From
This guide is based on how the technologies work and on manufacturers’ listings. We haven’t compared these devices in person.
FAQs
Is microcurrent better than EMS for the face?
For most people, yes. It’s gentler and more established for facial toning.
Can EMS make my face look slimmer?
EMS may tone muscles, but it doesn’t remove fat. Results are subtle.
Does microcurrent hurt?
Usually not. Most people feel little or nothing.
How often should I use microcurrent?
Typically several times a week for a few minutes. Follow your device’s instructions.
Evidence and safety references
These references support the general technology and safety context. Product specifications can change; confirm the current manual and regulatory status before use.
- FDA 510(k) summary: microcurrent facial device
- Randomized trial: home-use multi-energy device for facial rejuvenation
- Systematic review: evidence for home-based dermatology devices
Safety note: Beauty devices are not a substitute for diagnosis or treatment. Follow the device instructions and consult a qualified clinician if you have a skin condition, take photosensitizing medication, are pregnant, or are unsure whether a device is appropriate.
